Go to top of page

Basic Education

Basic education refers to education from grade R to grade 12. The aim of the Department of Basic Education (DBE) is to develop, maintain and support a South African school education system for the 21st century in which all citizens have access to lifelong learning, as well as education and training, which will, in turn, contribute towards improving the quality of life and building a peaceful, prosperous and democratic South Africa.

Basic education is divided into 4 phases, namely:

  • Foundation phase: Grade R to 3
  • Intermediate phase: Grade 4 to 6
  • Senior phase: Grade 7 to 9
  • Further Education and Training phase: Grade 10 to 12


Contact details of the Department of Basic Education

Address:          222 Struben Street, Pretoria

Call Centre:     0800 202 933


Switchboard:   012 357 3000

Get in touch today:

086 999 0123
072 204 5056
National Khetha Walk-in,
123 Francis Baard Street,

Our Partners

To become our partner, a formal agreement in the form of a Memorandum of Agreement or Implementation Protocol with DHET Career Development Services is required. For more information click here.