Education System in South Africa

The responsibility for education in South Africa is shared by the Department of Basic Education (DBE) and the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). The DBE deals with all schools from Grade R to Grade 12, and adult literacy programmes, while the DHET deals with universities, and other post-school education and training, as well as coordinating the Human Resource Development Strategy for South Africa (HRDSSA).
Basic Education

Here you will find, among others, basic education phases, programmes and curriculum.

Higher Education

Here you will find, among others,  information on colleges, universities and open learning.


Here you will find a dictionary of key terms and concepts used in basic and higher education.

TVET and University

This section gives you simplified access to the 26 public higher education and training institutions in South Africa, so that you can peruse any information of interest to you.

National Examinations Results Standardisation

Exams are used as a tool to assess the level of competence of an individual at different levels of their education, here you will find out how national exams results are standardised and quality assured at all education levels.

Our Partners

To become our partner, a formal agreement in the form of a Memorandum of Agreement or Implementation Protocol with DHET Career Development Services is required. For more information click here.