Go to top of page

Educational Development

Educational development propels people towards career progression. Once you have identified your career vision and how you want to grow, you will realise that at times you are required to enrol for certain qualifications. This could also be to update oneself with the latest information and technologies in order to compete in the market. According to the South Africa Qualifications Authority (SAQA) "the objectives of the NQF are designed to contribute to the full personal development of each learner and the social and economic development of the nation at large". As demands occur within different career fields, professionals have to identify qualifications which can open doors for them.

NQF graph

Below is a graph of the NQF that shows the levels which different qualifications fall into. It is important for professionals to remember that they can move in any way through the NQF ladder as long as they meet admission requirements for the qualifications and know how the knowledge will assist them.

10     Doctorate 10
9     Masters degree/
Postgraduate Diploma / Postgraduate Certificates
8     Bachelor with Honours 8
7     Bachelor 7
6   National N Diploma Diploma 6
5 HSC/ GCE 'A' level/ BAC/IBAC N4 + N5 + N6 Certificate 5
4 NSC / SC N3 + 2 SUBJECTS / NCV   4
3 Gr 11 / GCE 'O' level N3   3
2 Gr 10 N2   2
1 Gr 1 - 9 N1   1

Learners need to be made aware of the different levels and tertiary qualifications that they can acquire at each level. There are levels pertaining to the primary and secondary education, Technical Vocational Education and Training college education and the learning that can be acquired at tertiary institutions.

Clarification of terms on the NQF

HSC/ GCE 'A' level

The Higher School Certificate (HSC) is the highest educational award in New South Wales schools. It is awarded to students who successfully complete Years 11 and 12 in New South Wales. A GCE 'A' level is a secondary school leaving qualification in the United Kingdom, offered as a main qualification in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, as an alternative qualification in Scotland, and as an international school qualification worldwide.


Stands for the National Senior Certificate which is the qualification one obtains after completing Grade 12.


Refers to the Senior Certificate which is the name of the qualification learners obtained after completing Grade 12 before 2008.

N courses

Are Nated qualifications that can be obtained from TVET colleges. They range from N1 - N6. Completing an N6 qualification and doing 18 - 24 months practical training can help a student to acquire a National N Diploma which is on NQF level 6.

National Certificate: Vocational

A new and vocationally-oriented qualification offered at TVET Colleges since January 2007. It is offered at Levels 2, 3 and 4 of the National Qualifications Framework which are equivalent to Grades 10, 11 and 12.


1 year qualification on level 5 of the NQF which can allow students to articulate (be considered) for a diploma or bachelor's degree.


A qualification whose academic emphasis is placed on a more practical approach to learning. It is on level 6 of the NQF.


The emphasis is on an academic approach to a specified field of study or profession. It is on level 7 (if it is a three year qualification) or 8 (if it is a four year qualification) of the NQF.

Bachelor with Honours

A one year qualification completed after a bachelor's degree. It is on NQF level 8 and focuses on one area of study.

Master's degree

A qualification on NQF level 9 with a research component.


A qualification on NQF level 10 which is the highest qualification a student can obtain in a given field.

There are other opportunities towards career progression which include staff training, seminars and workshops; and skills programmes. These are opportunities fill in gaps where students are lacking in terms of knowledge and experience.

Get in touch today:

086 999 0123
072 204 5056
National Khetha Walk-in,
123 Francis Baard Street,

Our Partners

To become our partner, a formal agreement in the form of a Memorandum of Agreement or Implementation Protocol with DHET Career Development Services is required. For more information click here.